What To Read

Hi guys,
The thing I like to do most in the Fall is to snuggle up with a blanket, hot tea and a good book. I can sit like that for hours, completely unaware of my surroundings.
Since I finished high school a few months ago, I started reading a lot. Reading for yourself is, in my opinion, so much more fun and enjoyable than reading book for a test. These are my favorite books I read (or reread) in the past few months.

Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell
When I first saw the book cover I immediately fell in love with it. It is adorable, just like the story. Even though it is a love story, it is not a “traditional” one in which the boy meets the girl and they fall head over heels for eachother. Set in the year 1986, the two misfits Eleanor and Park slowly develop a friendship in the back of the school bus. The book was released in 2013, but explains perfectly how life in the 80s must have been like, without the internet and iPhones. And with some current issues, such as domestic violence and bullying. Therefore, this book is perfect when you want to read a cute but not cliche love story.


The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
I think almost everyone has either heard about this book or seen the movie, so I won’t explain thoroughly what the story is about. What I will tell you is that this is, up to now, my favorite American literature book. While reading it, all I wanted to do was jump in a time machine and go back to the Roaring Twenties. Partying all summer long, not worrying about anything and, after seeing the movie, dressing in fabulous outfits seems like a perfect summer to me. The mysterious Jay Gatsby makes the whole story interesting and you will want to finish the book to see if he ends up with his true love.
Hannah – Paul-Loup Sulitzer
The story about the Jewish girl Hannah is inspired by Helena Rubinstein. Hannah discovers her talent for marketing when she works at the grocery store in Warschau. Because of unrequited love, the young girl is determined to take over the world. And she will. Her first cosmetics store in Australia is a huge succes, but that’s not enough for Hannah. Opening stores in cities like London and Paris will bring her closer to her dream. The determination she has is contagious and Hannah’s ability to wrap every man around her finger is very inspiring and creates hilarious situations.
Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
I wanted to wait to see the movie after I read the book. But now that I finished the 450 pages full of genius plot twists, I am not sure I even want to see the movie anymore. The story took so many unpredictable turns, I could not stop reading. Every chapter I was curious about which situatiosn the characters would get themselves into, most of them I couldn’t have thought of it myself.
One word: amazing.
Me Before You – Jojo Moyes
This book is a lot more serious than the others. Even though it made me laugh sporadically, most of the time I was trying to imagine myself in the life of Will. Before his motorcycle accident, he did things like skydiving and he traveled a lot. But now he is a quadriplegic and Will has no desire to live anymore.
Suddenly Louisa Clark comes into his life. They are both unaware of the consequences this will have for the rest of their lives. The story is intriguing, sad and contains a little bit of humor. I can’t wait to read the sequel.

Love,
Miss Charming

Leave a Reply

